New Use for a Scroll Saw

December 3, 2011 Comments Off on New Use for a Scroll Saw

I’ve thought about getting a vintage scroll saw and restoring it. I’d never pay $500 for a new one because frankly I don’t think it would get a lot of use in my shop. But I think the vintage cast iron ones look really cool. And I like fixing up old things. The pictures below, taken at a mexican restaurant near our house, are not what I had in mind, however. Yes, it’s a lamp. And yes, it’s painted blue with flowers. And its cast iron table has been replaced with a chunk of granite. At least it’s not in a landfill.

More:
Some woodworkers get really upset when old tools are given a new purpose in life. Chris Schwarz recently had this funny post about a router plane turned into a coat rack. If you scroll through the comments you will see what I mean. It’s also nice how the person selling the plane/coat rack takes issue with his post and the comments, adding to the entertainment.

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading New Use for a Scroll Saw at BreenBush Design.

meta

