Woodworking Forums Web Slang

February 11, 2012 § 2 Comments

Beginning woodworkers often find themselves lurking around web forums such as Woodnet, Sawmill Creek, and Woodcentral. And they quickly find a preponderance of web slang in almost every thread. Here is a quick primer on what the heck some of that means. In no particular order:

  • IIRC = If I Recall Correctly  (usually put at the end of a post to cover your ass)
  • YMMV = Your Mileage May Vary  (this took me a while to figure out; see IIRC)
  • LOL = Laugh Out Loud   (for when something is funny)
  • LMAO = Laughing My Ass Off  (for when something is really funny)
  • ROTFLMAO = Rolling on the Floor Laughing My Ass Off (really, really funny)
  • LOML = Love of My Life  (an affectionant term for your spouse when you are complaining about them)
  • SYMBO = She Who Must Be Obeyed  (see LOML)
  • DAMHIKT = Don’t Ask Me How I Know That  (follows a small tidbit of advice)
  • IME = In My Experience  (precedes a small tidbit of advice)
  • BTDT = Been There Done That (see DAMHIKT)
  • IMHO = In My Humble Opinion  (opinions are rarely humble)
  • IMAO = In My Arrogant Opinion  (a little more honest)
  • HTH = Hope That Helps  (after giving a helpful response you leave the reader utterly confused by ending with these three letters)
  • POS = Piece of Shit  (when describing an unfortunate tool buying decision)
  • POC = Piece of Crap  (see POS)
  • IOW = In Other Words  (this one also had me scratching my head for awhile)
  • OT = Off Topic  (a polite warning that what you are about to read has nothing to do with woodworking)
  • FWIW = For What It’s Worth  (knowing it probably isn’t worth much)

I’m sure I’m missing about a dozen or so. Netlingo.com keeps a master list of all web slang, if you wondering what your teenager is texting you about.

§ 2 Responses to Woodworking Forums Web Slang

  • Rob says:

    As a woodworker on the IOW (Isle of Wight, UK) I’d been wondering why people had been dropping this island into their forum chat!

    Cheers,
    Rob

    • Eric Bushèe says:

      Rob,

      Yeah, I’ve wondered how some of this slang translates to other English speaking countries. The internet has homogenzied the world to a certain degree, but local customs and idioms certainly still exist. The Isle of Wight – almost made it there once. It’s been years since I’ve been to Europe – I miss it. We hope to visit my girlfriend’s sister in France sometime in the next two years.

      -Eric

What’s this?

You are currently reading Woodworking Forums Web Slang at BreenBush Design.

meta

